Taxation Board

About the BoardTaxation Board Front Entrance

Welcome to the Hunterdon County Board of Taxation website. Providing our residents with public information in a professional and friendly manner is our goal. We hope you enjoy all that our County has to offer.

Tony Porto, Tax Administrator

Related Documents

Functions of the Taxation Board


  • Municipal tax assessors carry out their duties under the direct supervision of the County Tax Administrator and the County Board of Taxation


  • The County Tax Board by resolution establishes the percentage of true value at which all real property in the county must be assessed


  • Annually the Tax Administrator ascertains the level of assessment in each taxing district in order to distribute the costs of county government equitably among the taxing districts within the County
  • The Board reviews and certifies the Equalization Table

Calculation of Tax Rates

  • Annually the Tax Administrator prepares the County Abstract of Ratables (or Table of Aggregates) to calculate the tax rate for each municipality within the County
  • The Board review and certifies the tax rates.

Computer Taxation System

  • Under the New Jersey Property Tax System (MOD IV), the County Board of Taxation, in cooperation with the municipalities, supplies and maintains the computer taxation system used by assessing officers within the county

Record Maintenance

  • Some records maintained at the County Tax Board office include: Tax lists for each municipality, tax maps for each taxing district, a list of SR-1A's reflecting property sales information and tax appeal judgments rendered by the Board

Appellate Duties

Petition for Appeal


  • 9:30 am
  • County Commissioners' Meeting Room
    71 Main Street
    Flemington, NJ 08822

View the Meeting Schedule (PDF)

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Michael J. Pierce, President
  • Rina E Richard, Vice President
  • Edmund C. Watkinson, Commissioner